USAF Tanker Competiton - EADS vs. Boeing

A place to discuss military aviation: airshows, stunning pictures, weapons, etc...

Moderator: Latest news team

smokejumper

USAF Tanker Competiton - EADS vs. Boeing

Post by smokejumper »

The USAF tanker saga has gone on for 10 years and, may or may not have ended. Perhaps we should start a new thread?

Anyway, here is my take on the situation:

A. Rational Arguments:
1) I have no direct knowledge of the procurement, but I’ve read all accounts available.
2) This is the third attempt to get a new tanker for the USAF – the first ended in scandal (several folks went to prison, the second ended when the General Accountability Office ruled that the USAF tilted the evaluation toward one competitor, and finally, this one.
3) In the second procurement, the AF gave credit to aircraft capabilities and minimized purchase, operating and infrastructure costs (the latter are significant over a 30+ year lifetime).
4) For this attempt, the AF listed a set of pass/fail capabilities that de-emphasized capabilities that exceed the basic need. If a capability exceeded the minimum by a certain amount, credit would be given. If not, no additional points would be given. (I might like a Mercedes due to its capabilities, but I only need a Ford at lesss cost.)
5) Therefore, the decision point was heavily dependent on cost – initial cost, operating cost and additional infrastructure required over the 30+ year life of the plane (based on experience, these planes will probably last longer in service).
6) Based on the pass/fail capability requirement, both aircraft were deemed acceptable, so this will not be an issue for any challenge.
7) Turning to initial costs, I estimate that the EADS KC-330 entry would probably cost more to build (larger, more materials, higher thrust engines, etc.), but this could be offset by a low-ball bid.