The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Join this forum to discuss the latest news that happened in the world of commercial aviation.

Moderator: Latest news team

Post Reply
User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Bertrand Piccard will takeoff to Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania on May 24th at 10:00 AMUTC

Si2 will takeoff for the fifth leg of the crossing of the United States with Si2 from Dayton International Airport to Lehigh Valley International Airport on May 24th at 10:00AM UTC, 12:00PM CET,6:00AM EDT. We are ready to continue the adventure after our two-day stay in Dayton, Ohio, the home of the famous Wright Brothers. The flight is expected to last 17 hours in order to reach Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania.

The next step will be to reach New York City!
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Bertrand Piccard took off to Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania!

Solar Impulse 2 rose from the Dayton International Airport tarmac with Bertrand Piccard in the cockpit. Direction: Lehigh Valley International Airport. He took off from Dayton, Ohio at 8:02 AM UTC,10:02 AM CET, 4:02 AM EDT for a journey that is expected to last 17 hours until reaching his destination. It was important that we leave Dayton, Ohio early, as clouds are expected to follow Si2’s path during the first part of the flight.

Join the adventure with the plane, pilot and Mission Control Center in Monaco through the LIVE experience designed for you that can be found on the website solarimpulse.com
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Post by sn26567 »

Bertrand Piccard landed at Lehigh Valley International Airport, Pennsylvania!

Si2 just landed on the runway in Lehigh Valley International Airport at12:49 AM UTC, 2:49 AM CET on May 26th and 9:49 PM EDT on May 25th. Bertrand left Dayton International Airport at 8:02 AM UTC, 10:02 AMCET, 4:02 AM EDT on May 25th for a flight that lasted a total of 16 hours and 47 minutes. This flight brings us to New York City’s doorstep. André Borschberg will fly Si2 from Pennsylvania to New York, doing a flyover of the Statue of Liberty, while Bertrand Piccard prepares for the Atlantic Crossing.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
KriVa
Posts: 1389
Joined: 31 Mar 2010, 20:15
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by KriVa »

Thanks for the continued updates, Andre!
Thomas

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Andre Borschberg will take off from Lehigh Valley International Airport with the Solar Impulse 2 around 04.00 UTC. Destination; New York City.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Si2 flight to New York City postponed

The flight to New York City has been postponed until further notice. Due to worsening weather conditions, the Mission Control Center has decided to prioritize pilot and airplane safety. The engineers are continuing to study the weather over the coming days to find the next flight possibility to bring Solar Impulse to New York City.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Second date scheduled with the Statue of Liberty on June 11th 6:00AM UTC, 8:00AM CET, 2:00AM EDT!

Unfortunately the Solar Impulse 2 didn’t make it to its first date, so they’re giving it another shot. It’s not that they weren’t interested the first time, it’s just that they were feeling a little under the weather. Here we go again, don’t miss history in the making - if you’re in New York, go outside to the Upper New York Bay area and look up!
André
ex Sabena #26567

Homo Aeroportus
Posts: 1300
Joined: 24 Feb 2007, 18:28
Location: 2300NM due South of North Pole

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by Homo Aeroportus »

Solar Impulse 2 has landed at KJFK less than one hour ago.

She overflew the Statue of Liberty for a photoshoot.
SI2 over NYC.jpg
This flight was made completely during night time. Kind of an achievement for a solar powered plane.

Landing was 1 minute ahead of ETA. During an interview, while André Clair was congratulated for this famous Swiss precision, he replied : well being one minute early is not exactly precision :lol:

Next flight : crossing the Atlantic. A 3-4 day trip with destination to be selected from airports in France, Spain or Morocco. Favourites are Toulouse and Sevilla.

TBC.

H.A.

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Bertrand Piccard will attempt the Atlantic Crossing on June 20th

It's been 9 days since André Borschberg landed in New York City after a flyover of the Statue of Liberty, Bertrand Piccard will attempt the Atlantic Crossing with a takeoff at 6:00AM UTC, 8:00AM CET, 2:00AM EDT on June 20th.

This flight will be the first transatlantic solar and electric flight with zero fuel and zero emissions. A clear opening has allowed the team to attempt a flight to Seville, Spain. André Borschberg will be monitoring the flight from the Mission Control Center in Monaco.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Bertrand Piccard just took off to start the Atlantic Crossing

Bertrand Piccard just embarked on the first solo transatlantic crossing in a solar-powered airplane. He took off from JFK, New York at6:30AM UTC, 8:30AM CET, and2:30AM EDT on June 20th and will be landing at Seville Airport, Spain approximately 90 hours later. We have already proved perpetual endurance with Solar Impulse 2 and now we will do it again with Bertrand Piccard in the cockpit to close the last big stretch of ocean. This flight is one of the most challenging legs of the Round-The-World Solar Flight.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Still a long way until Seville...
Attachments
Solar_Impulse_2 2016-06-20 16.41.32.png
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Gaining altitude during the day (now at FL270) and descending during the night to save energy. Still a long way to SCQ, but progressing...

Image
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

BREAKING: Si2 will land between on June 23rd between 6:30AM and 7:00AM local time in Seville, Spain.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

1000 km to go for the Solar Impulse:

Image
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Earth and destination in view

Image
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
YYZ727
Posts: 276
Joined: 03 Dec 2004, 00:00
Location: Maldegem, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by YYZ727 »

And it has arrived ! Congrats to the Solar Impulse team

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

Si2 has arrived in Europe after 71 hours and 8 minutes of flying across the Atlantic Ocean

What a moment to remember! Bertrand Piccard has safely landed in Seville, Spain after spending 71 hours and 8 minutes flying across the Atlantic Ocean in a solar airplane, welcomed there by André Borschberg. He took off from New York City at 6:30AM UTC, 8:30AMCET, 2:30AM EDT on June 20th and has finally reached Europe after a spectacular flight. Charles Lindbergh completed the first transatlantic flight in 1927 from New York to Paris, and now Bertrand Piccard brings aviation to the next level with clean technology. I bet you Lindbergh never imagined a solar airplane could do the same.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

BREAKING: Tomorrow July 11 at 4:30AM UTC, Andre Borschberg's last flight of the historical round-the-world trip begins!

From Seville, Spain to Cairo, Egypt, André Borschberg will celebrate his last flight after spending two summer seasons flying Si2 around the world and completing the longest solo endurance flight, breaking Steve Fossett’s 2006 record. He will take off from Seville International Airport at 04:30AM UTC, 06:30AM CET, 00:30AM EDT on July 11th and is expected to arrive in Cairo 48 hours later.

Don’t forget to watch this sublime flight over the Mediterranean Sea - the last sea Si2 will cross before reaching the finish line!
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
luchtzak
Posts: 11534
Joined: 18 Sep 2002, 00:00
Location: Hofstade, Zemst - Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by luchtzak »

Impressive!

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 37971
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: The Solar Impulse 2 trip around the world

Post by sn26567 »

On his way to Egypt from Spain

André Borschberg took off for his last flight on this adventure around the world in a solar airplane at 04:20AM UTC, 06:20AM CET, 00:20AM EDT on July 11th. This is Solar Impulse’s penultimate flight before reaching their long-awaited finish line and starting point, Abu Dhabi. The flight is expected to last 50 hours and 30 minutes from Seville International Airport to Cairo International Airport. Although this is our second to last flight, the challenges of finishing this round-the-world tour remain as true as always.
André
ex Sabena #26567

Post Reply