Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Join this forum to discuss the latest news that happened in the world of commercial aviation.

Moderator: Latest news team

tangolima
Posts: 11299
Joined: 04 Nov 2006, 20:04
Location: at any airport
Contact:

Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by tangolima » 08 Feb 2012, 19:40

Hello

Royal Jordanian will stop their scheduled flights to BRU ( together with 4 other airports.)
They will also reduce their flights to AMS.

Reasons:
High fuel prices
Current situation in the Arabic countries.

Greetings
All my posted timings are local !

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 35349
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by sn26567 » 08 Feb 2012, 23:13

This was already announced here, but thanks for giving the reasons.
André
ex Sabena #26567

User avatar
BrightCedars
Posts: 800
Joined: 01 Sep 2005, 00:00
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by BrightCedars » 09 Feb 2012, 09:52

Well, there weren't that many Jordanians to rely on in Belgium to begin with and with SN having been taken over by LH rather than BA there isn't even an alliance perspective to help the route.

Also, since RJ entered Brussels (with very poor connections - if at all - to the neighbouring Levant population centres of ALP, BEY and DAM), EY has extended it's offer to the Gulf and the East via AUH, ME has returned and killed much of the connection competition on the BEY route, and QR has entered the dance of Gulf and the East connections as well.

ME have an excellent connection on the BRU-AMM route via BEY, however you'd have to overnight in BEY on the way AMM-BRU. Since there is no airport hotel in BEY I don't see that to be very convenient if it involves sleeping over at the airport due to the early departure of the flight to BRU.

User avatar
tolipanebas
Posts: 2455
Joined: 12 May 2004, 00:00

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by tolipanebas » 09 Feb 2012, 09:59

Anybody an idea on the average loads of this flight?

I counted it once and I saw roughly 50 pax board: not really great for such a long and not very frequent flight, is it?

globetrotter
Posts: 1022
Joined: 14 Nov 2005, 00:00

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by globetrotter » 09 Feb 2012, 11:34

Al Ain already removed from schedules.

User avatar
sn26567
Posts: 35349
Joined: 13 Feb 2003, 00:00
Location: Rosières/Rozieren, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by sn26567 » 09 Feb 2012, 11:46

I have personally seen many Jordanian nationals on the weekly JAF flight from Brussels to Aqaba. But that would not be sufficient as a route between Jordan and Belgium, especially since the most populated area is around Amman, which is far away from Aqaba.
André
ex Sabena #26567

Real999
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Jul 2010, 08:53

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by Real999 » 09 Feb 2012, 21:04

D*mn... We we're planning on going RJ on BRU <=> AMM <=> Colombo in July with quite a big group of people :( .Flight tickets were already booked and paid in Sept 2011 trough Connections.

Regardless from the fact that I now will miss the opportunity to fly in one of their A330 ;) , could any of you give advice on which steps we need to undertake to handle this situation?
Should we contact Connections or RJ customer center directly?
I assume that it's up to Connections/RJ to come up with a solution and offer our group, free of charge, an acceptable rerouting option, correct?

@Lex: So it will be neither a A330, nor A310 for me... ;)

regi
Posts: 5140
Joined: 02 Sep 2004, 00:00
Location: Bruges

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by regi » 09 Feb 2012, 21:07

Where are the days of the RJ Tri-Star at Brussels ?
And late King Hussein flew sometimes his own Tri-Star...

User avatar
cathay belgium
Posts: 2177
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 00:17
Location: Lommel-Belgium
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by cathay belgium » 09 Feb 2012, 21:13

Real B,

RJ will sort out a solution for you,rerouting...
Guess you better call their office for possible reroutings,maybe you can suggest ,choice between different routings,airlines,... within oneworld..?
Probably BA,Kingfisher for so long.. or CATHAY offcourse they go to CMB from AMS via HKG !
Can I suggest Mahan Air ;)

Keep us informed what happend ( or PM) Quite curious what they will offer you..
I shouldn,t worry really...

Pity of the nice RJ sheme..

cxb
New types flown : A223,AN24,AW139,B737MAX8,B763nonER,DH Dragonrapide,EMB110 Bandeirante, Shorts360,Autogire MTOsport2010

cnc
Posts: 1325
Joined: 19 May 2009, 16:14

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by cnc » 09 Feb 2012, 21:40

cathay belgium wrote:Real B,

RJ will sort out a solution for you,rerouting...
Guess you better call their office for possible reroutings,maybe you can suggest ,choice between different routings,airlines,... within oneworld..?
Probably BA,Kingfisher for so long.. or CATHAY offcourse they go to CMB from AMS via HKG !
since when is IT a oneworld member?

User avatar
cathay belgium
Posts: 2177
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 00:17
Location: Lommel-Belgium
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by cathay belgium » 09 Feb 2012, 21:56

Hi,

IT =

http://www.oneworld.com/member-airlines/members-elect/

Indeed, not yet and not likely due to cash problems but had forgotten this remark and put them already on my hard disk under OW, sorry..

Malaysian option via AMS/LHR..

So, more chances to fly CX over HKG , lucky you !

CX-B
New types flown : A223,AN24,AW139,B737MAX8,B763nonER,DH Dragonrapide,EMB110 Bandeirante, Shorts360,Autogire MTOsport2010

User avatar
Established02
Posts: 1590
Joined: 16 Oct 2002, 00:00

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by Established02 » 09 Feb 2012, 22:12

regi wrote:Where are the days of the RJ Tri-Star at Brussels ?
This one at BRU is from August 1990.

Thanks to J.Laporte for uploading.
http://www.airliners.net/photo/Royal-Jo ... 722d6418d0
Attachments
BRU - 1990 - RJ - L10 - 2062169.jpg

LJ
Posts: 851
Joined: 14 Mar 2004, 00:00
Location: Alkmaar NL

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by LJ » 09 Feb 2012, 22:31

Real999 wrote:Should we contact Connections or RJ customer center directly?
I assume that it's up to Connections/RJ to come up with a solution and offer our group, free of charge, an acceptable rerouting option, correct?
If you book with a travel agent they will have to ask RJ for rerouting. However, RJ will be responsible for getting you there. If the flight is part of a package (thus flight + hotel/tour) the touroperator must reroute. They'll probably reroute you on RJ (AMS, FRA, VIE or another RJ station in Europe) as that's the most economical thing to do (for RJ).

firrech
Posts: 102
Joined: 28 Mar 2004, 00:00
Location: LIEGE

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by firrech » 09 Feb 2012, 23:22

Hello,

What are you thinking about my situation?
I got a confirmed booking reference from RJ for flight to BKK next December.
I get 1 month to pay (not yet paid but still time).
I already booked domestic flights in Thailand.
What does RJ have to do for me?

Thanks.

Chris

User avatar
cathay belgium
Posts: 2177
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 00:17
Location: Lommel-Belgium
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by cathay belgium » 09 Feb 2012, 23:33

Hi,

My tought is, you pay your fare to rj, and they fix an alternative rerouting for you,
within OW or via other airports to BKK no?
Enjoy your stay,..
They stopped the route,they will,reroute you,no panic,they aren't bankrupted..
And my personal experiencesvis that I most of the time got a better than :i originally booked... :D

cxb
New types flown : A223,AN24,AW139,B737MAX8,B763nonER,DH Dragonrapide,EMB110 Bandeirante, Shorts360,Autogire MTOsport2010

cnc
Posts: 1325
Joined: 19 May 2009, 16:14

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by cnc » 09 Feb 2012, 23:41

firrech wrote:Hello,

What are you thinking about my situation?
I got a confirmed booking reference from RJ for flight to BKK next December.
I get 1 month to pay (not yet paid but still time).
I already booked domestic flights in Thailand.
What does RJ have to do for me?

Thanks.

Chris
untill you pay they don't have to do anything.
anyway one possible option is flying out of BRU with RO via OTP to AMM and then continue with RJ since both airlines codeshare

regi
Posts: 5140
Joined: 02 Sep 2004, 00:00
Location: Bruges

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by regi » 10 Feb 2012, 14:50

Established02 wrote:
regi wrote:Where are the days of the RJ Tri-Star at Brussels ?
This one at BRU is from August 1990.

Thanks to J.Laporte for uploading.
http://www.airliners.net/photo/Royal-Jo ... 722d6418d0
I always respected that paint job. Great picture.


User avatar
luchtzak
Posts: 11288
Joined: 18 Sep 2002, 00:00
Location: Hofstade, Zemst - Belgium
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by luchtzak » 10 Feb 2012, 16:03


I have not idea what you mean! What's wrong with the link ?

tangolima
Posts: 11299
Joined: 04 Nov 2006, 20:04
Location: at any airport
Contact:

Re: Royal Jordanian leaves BRU

Post by tangolima » 10 Feb 2012, 16:17

luchtzak wrote:

I have not idea what you mean! What's wrong with the link ?
Hello

He means that RJ is still offering jobs.
OUTSIDE & INSIDE SALES + ADMINISTRATION (M/F)
Passenger Reservation & Ticketing Agent


Greetings,
Last edited by tangolima on 10 Feb 2012, 16:19, edited 1 time in total.
All my posted timings are local !

Post Reply